ANNOUNCING ‘THE THIRD SPENCER TRACY AND KATHARINE HEPBURN BLOGATHON’

Spencer Tracy photographed between scenes with Katharine Hepburn in the Columbia picture Guess Who's Coming to Dinner, 1967

Before I get down to business, I want to fill you all in on my whereabouts and why my blog has been left abandoned lately. As some of you would know, I’m now employed and under contract with Pen and Sword Publishing Company to write a definitive biography on Katharine Hepburn. I first received the offer last October, but the formality is that a book proposal had to be written before any plans were cemented. Since then my proposal has been accepted and I’ve embarked on the research and interview phase of the book, which has kept me super busy.

In addition to my career, I’ve also been plagued with severe headaches and a myriad of other sicknesses, which ultimately resulted in me being hospitalized three times this year. This of course is not mentioning the pandemic and lock-down, an unfortunate situation that has forced me to reschedule a research trip and other engagements pertaining to my book. However, as much as I curse the current crisis for derailing some of my immediate plans, I’m slightly appreciative in the way that I can move forward with my blog and hopefully put it back on the radar. One of the things I missed the most is blogathons and interacting with some of my fellow blogger friends.

Now that I’ve briefly documented the reason for my absence, its time to deliver the news that the Spencer Tracy and Katharine Hepburn Blogathon is returning for the third consecutive year this October. Joining me as co-host once again is Michaela from Love Letters To Old Hollywood.

I honestly couldn’t think of a better way to mark my return to the blogging world than raising a toast to my career with a blogathon dedicated to the legendary duo. After all, Katharine Hepburn and Spencer Tracy continuously deserve to be celebrated. They provided us with endless hours of joy and entertainment by opening the window to their genius – so as a token of gratitude, Michaela and I want to show them some love.

Sea of Grass_CS Bull (1)

Katharine Hepburn has been my favorite actress for many years now. Out of all the colorful pantheon of stars who graced the silver screen, she is the one that inspires me the most. Adding to my obsession is Hepburn’s legendary partnership with Spencer Tracy, which continues to enthrall and enrapture me. These two spawned magic and infused splashes of their genius in every film they made. It is for this reason that the famous coupling of Tracy and Hepburn is forever etched in the hearts of millions worldwide.

TartUnimportantChickadee-small

THE RULES

The rules we proposed last year still apply for the 2020 edition of the blogathon. Therefore, I’m taking the easy way out and copying and pasting the original rules we used in 2019.

1. This blogathon is not just restricted to the nine films that Katharine and Spencer made together. The purpose of this event is to celebrate the indelible legacy and illustrious filmography of both stars. Bloggers are welcome to write about any film that starred Kate or Spencer or any topic pertaining to Hepburn or Tracy.

2. Due to the diversity of the subject matter, we are allowing no more than two duplicates per topic. I know this sounds extremely fair, but we want to give everybody the opportunity to participate. If you have a topic in mind, act fast. Also, you are welcome to write more than one entry if you wish. However, we are limiting it to three posts per blog.

3. This blogathon is a loving tribute to both Kate and Spence. All bloggers are welcome to participate, but we will not accept any post that appears derogatory or disrespectful to either star. I also want to state that entries focusing on Kate’s head tremor will not be allowed. By all means, you are welcome to mention it in your articles, but posts that are strictly about that subject are verbatim.

4. All contributions must be new material only. Previously published posts will not be accepted.

5. The blogathon will take place on October 17th- 19th, 2020. Please submit your entries on either of these days or early if you wish. For those of you posting early, just remember that your entry won’t be linked until the event starts. We understand that these are not birth or death dates for either star, but we simply couldn’t wait for any anniversary. Besides, Kate and Spence are important enough to be celebrated any time of the year.

6. To express your interest in participating in the blogathon, leave a comment on my blog or on Michaela’s blog along with the name and URL of your blog, and the subject you wish to cover, or you can always register by email at: crystalkalyana@yahoo.com or by contacting Michaela. For those of you who wish to register by email, please be sure to include the name and URL of your blog, and the topic you wish to cover. Once you get confirmation, please spread the word about this blogathon by advertising the event on your blog. Please take one of these beautiful banners that were designed by Michaela, and advertise in on your blog. We look forward to seeing you in October.

117194965_289491335675575_4406361391464624591_n

117905374_340470363776968_6619066643264387717_n

117308261_3130507833715160_8908337239829053349_n

117334455_643309223287225_4839524610807529322_n

SUBJECTS CLAIMED THE MAXIMUM NUMBER OF TIMES:

DESK SET ( 1957 ), Mannequin ( 1937 ) and Adam’s Rib ( 1949 ), Guess Who’s Coming To Dinner? ( 1967 ) and Woman of the Year ( 1942 )

THE ROSTER

In The Good Old Days Of Classic Hollywood – Katharine Hepburn’s autobiography: Me: Stories Of My Life, and Stanley and Livingstone ( 1939 )

Love Letters To Old Hollywood – Stage Door ( 1937 )

Goose Pimply All Over – Desk Set ( 1957 )

Are You Thrilled – Boys Town ( 1938 )

KN Winiarski Writes – Bringing Up Baby ( 1938 )

Old Hollywood Films – Keeper Of The Flame ( 1942 )

Wide Screen World – Love Among The Ruins ( 1975 )

Dubsism – The African Queen ( 1951 )

Box Office Poison – Desk Set ( 1957 )

Poppity Talks Classic Film – Sylvia Scarlett ( 1935 ) and Mannequin ( 1937 )

Sean Munger – Cate Blanchett’s portrayal of Katharine Hepburn in The Aviator ( 2004 )

The Wonderful World Of Cinema – The Iron Petticoat ( 1956 )

Real Weegie Midget Reviews – Guess Who’s Coming To Dinner? ( 1967 )

Pale Writer – Mannequin ( 1937 )

Thoughts From The Musical Man – Father Of The Bride ( 1950 )

Taking Up Room – Adam’s Rib ( 1949 )

18 Cinema Lane – The Sea Of Grass ( 1947 )

Movies Meet Their Match – Adam’s Rib ( 1949 )

Linda Pacey: Guest post on In The Good Old Days Of Classic Hollywood – Guess Who’s Coming To Dinner ( 1967 )

Pure Entertainment Preservation Society – Song of Love ( 1947 ) and Malaya ( 1949 )

Whimsically Classic – Woman of the Year ( 1942 )

The Stop Button – Woman of the Year ( 1942 )

Here’s Booking At You Kid – Holiday ( 1938 )

 

31 thoughts on “ANNOUNCING ‘THE THIRD SPENCER TRACY AND KATHARINE HEPBURN BLOGATHON’

  1. Welcome back, Crystal! ❤ I’m so sorry you’ve been dealing with so much lately and I trust this event will help to make things a bit easier. 🙂 It’ll be an honor to participate in this wonderful tribute opportunity. Congratulations too on your new endeavor with the book!!!

    Please put me down for Desk Set on Goosepimply All Over: http://goosepimplyallover.wordpress.com

    Thanks!! Sending love your way…

    ~Tonya

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Hi Crystal!
    Thanks for inviting me to join! I really appreciate it as I’ve recently revamped my blog.

    Such a great subject for a blogathon! Could I please write about Bringing Up Baby? It’s one of my favorites. Thanks!

    ~Kristen
    KN Winiarski Writes at knwiniarski.com

    Like

  3. Hi Crystal!

    I’m so glad you are able to co-host again with Michaela! 🙂 Congraulations on having your book proposal accepted and for working so hard on the biography. 2020 has been a challenging one for myself as well, on many different levels. I know that it takes an even greater effort to reserve time for this blogathon so for that, I am very grateful!

    I’d love to submit two entries, one for Kate and one for Spence:

    SYLVIA SCARLETT (1935) and MANNEQUIN (1937).

    Like

  4. Hello! Although it’s not *with* Katherine Hepburn but *about* her, would I be able to do Martin Scorsese’s “The Aviator” from 2004, specifically talking about Hepburn as a character in the film and Cate Blanchett’s portrayal of her? I’d love to take part.

    By the way, my blog is no longer on WordPress, but here: https://www.seanmunger.com/blog

    Like

  5. Hi, Crystal, and welcome back! Looking forward to reading your book. And awesome–so glad you’re bringing back Kate and Spence, too. I’d like to review “Adam’s Rib” if that’s OK, please. 🙂

    Like

  6. Dear Crystal,

    I’m glad you’re hosting this again! I’d like to join this blogathon with a review of a film of Katharine, “Song of Love” from 1947, and of Spencer, “Malaya” from 1949.

    By the way, I’d like to invite you to join my upcoming blogathon, the Joe Pasternak Blogathon (https://pureentertainmentpreservationsociety.wordpress.com/2020/08/21/announcing-the-joe-pasternak-blogathon/). It’s a celebration of the many wonderful films, particularly musicals, produced by Joe Pasternak during his long career. We would be honored if you could join. We could really use your talent!

    Yours Hopefully,

    Tiffany Brannan

    Like

Leave a comment